i can has happi spouz

I have come to the conclusion that I will never understand the hypnotizing allure that has caused “I CAN HAS CHEEZBURGER” to be the number one site in this blog community, week after week. I can’t explain why people are drawn to it faster than magnetic shavings to the click to playred plastic pen on The Original Wooly Willy board. Heck, half of the time, I don’t even understand the captions of the “cute to everyone but me” posts and snapshots.

The sad part is that I feel compelled to admit visiting the site at least 7 times this week. I even left a comment, once! This is nuts! I don’t even like cats! Mainly because am so allergic to them that even the pictures make me sneeze!

I searched the Internet in the attempt to find an explanation for this phenomenon. My minimum expectation was to be able to find out what the trick was to decoding the captions. Perhaps there were some early Egyptian hieroglyphics that could lead me to an open stargate to a far off planet ruled by felines.

A few seconds on Google led me to a blog that defined this “language” as a “pidgin“. Apparently, a pidgin is a simplified language that develops as a means of communication between two or more groups who do not share a common language. The “I CAN” site is apparently attempting to bridge the communication gap between cats and humans.

I CAN HAS SUMTHIN TO WURK WIT NOW!

This reminded me of the early phases of  my relationship with my wife. I don’t know if it has occurred to you yet, but men and women speak different languages. (sarcasm) They have different needs and different expectations. So much so that it could appear that they are from different planets. (what a great idea for a book). It seems like the more the both of you speak, the more confused you each get.

Why?

If you look at the basic needs of a each of you, they would look like this…

 loveA husband wants (in this order): sexual fulfillment, a recreational companion, an attractive spouse, domestic support, and admiration. While a wife is in search of (in this order): affection, support in conversation, honesty, financial and family support.

(If this doesn’t fit with your exact situation, sorry, I read it in Willard Harley’s “His Needs / Her Needs”. Please direct any complaints to Dr. Harley.)

I will try to put it in lay-mans terms. (Prepare for the run-ons).

A husband wants lots of sex from his hot wife, while she is baiting his fish hook, as she cleans and cooks for him, while telling him how great he is at everything.

A wife needs to be caressed and held while we listen, understand, and reply without lying, as we are on our way to our jobs, to take care of our family that we love more than anything.

So how do two totally different beings ever learn how to communicate? How can they co-exist? How do they learn to love each other when they seem to be polar opposites? What is the pidgen that allows them to inhabit the common ground of their households?

Love.

Love is a perfect, simplified language, created by God, given to us as a gift to cherish. A gift that would allow us to see past our differences of opinions and selfish needs so that we couldaaaachhooooo take our dissimilarities as individuals and combine them into one satisfied being.  Love gives us trust, hope, and courage. Love gives us patience to wait till God is done doing His work in our partner. Love is understanding and commitment.

Thank you, I CAN HAS CHEEZBURGER, for the “love lesson”…

…even though I still hate cats.

4 Responses to i can has happi spouz

  1. TK says:

    Well said, good observations on men and women. I don’t like cats much either. One ‘wise’ person said my allergies were the result of my refusing to let the cat’s love in. I started breaking out in hives anytime this person came near.

  2. David says:

    I enjoy cats but can’t say as I love them. Love is truly a gift from God and is misunderstood by so many in our world today. To love your wife, children, and anything else, you must learn to love God. About that “doing His work in our partner” stuff. Me thinks there is way too much work to be done in me, he may not have enough time to change my partner.

    Keep up the good work
    Dave

  3. Matt Keller says:

    great, great great, you make me want to blog!!!

  4. mszig says:

    I love the site I Can Has Cheezburger and I cannot tell you why. I have 2 cats and 2 dogs. Since I found that site, I’ve shown it to friends at work, my husband and my sister. I’ve also put 2 photos of my cats through the “Cheezeburger Factory”. They are posted on my site. I have no idea why this site is so popular, but I LOVE IT!

    mszig.wordpress.com
    dmzig.com

Leave a Reply

