women are like dead bugs

Women deal with multiple thoughts and emotions from their past and present all the time, at the same time – and these can’t be easily dismissed.           Jeff Feldhahn “For Men Only”

bugsIt is no great revelation that there is more going on in a woman’s mind than in a man’s. I mean, I know that we all have experienced the random, tangent filled, and sporadic array of information that pours from the female mind. I can’t be the only one that gets dizzy when I am trapped in a conversation with my wife and she really gets going at mach speed.

How can we go from: what she is wearing, to what the kids did today, then exactly what bills are due next, while we talk about what we need at the grocery store, followed by what happened at work, and  what we are eating for dinner, after that comes what I need to pick up from the hardware store, and how much gas prices have gone up, leading to what she read in the bible this morning, with the broken garbage disposal, to ……(please tell me its not just me)!

My brain must be so jealous when it sees my wife’s in action.

bugs3It takes everything I have to get home from work without getting lost. I can’t enjoy a movie if there is any talking going on. I can’t blog when there is someone else in the room. I like it pitch black when I want to sleep so my brain doesn’t get scared of the light. I have to run with headphones in my ears so that my breathing doesn’t confuse my legs for Pete’s sake!

I have to be honest; my wife’s brain scares me!

But then it hit me…literally!

I was coming home from work one day and getting pelted with 4,235,781 love bugs. At first, all it took was some wiper fluid and a few swipes and “Viola”, a clean slate (or windshield in this case). It quickly became overwhelming. There where so many bugs that it became hard see. There was so much love bug death juice on my car that it actually muted out the world in front of me.

bugs2Driving became a chore. I was not enjoying myself. My simple little man brain was pissed. I couldn’t enjoy the radio, the sites, or the fact that it was Friday and I was looking forward to the weekend.

And there was nothing I could do about it!

Well, I’m here to tell you that those dead bugs represent what is going on in your wife’s mind. Each of them represented another thought, process, direction, instruction or responsibility. They all contribute to the mental traffic she experiences all day, every day. They can frustrate her, ruin her view, or cause her paint to peel if they are not removed fast enough.

So what do we do as men?

1) Be your wife’s Mac Truck! Get out in front of her and block as many bugs as you can. She will still get hit by a few bugs, but not nearly as many. If you make a decision to lead the way in your marriage, in most cases, you can avoid her from having to take the responsibility as well.

2) Accept that the bugs are going to be there and there is noting you can do about it. Just make sure that you pay attention to the times that they are most active so that you can respond and understand.

this is not me3) Help her clean off her windshield at the end of each day. Together you can give her car a “once over” and remove the bug guts that accumulated for the day. Let her know that she won’t have to keep adding to the same exact mess every day. Talk, LISTEN, respond, understand and PLAN.

Don’t leave all the dirty work of life to your wife. Consider things “together” and understand that she can’t help the way she is made…

But WE can… even with our simple man brains.

3 Responses to women are like dead bugs

  1. Mike Ash says:

    This is an amazing illustration Chuck! It puts it into extremely relevant terms, especially in light of the current love-bug invasion.

  2. David says:

    Charles, great analogy! I hope your wife isn’t reading your blog though, she may not take kindly to being compared to a bug covered car. Your point is right on and just in time for me. Keep up the good work and keep smiling while catching some of those bugs. :)

  3. Yeah…thats good stuff.
    Why don’t you write a book…seriously!

Leave a Reply

