fore the fun of it

My 12 year old son and I played golf together for Fathers Day.

Here is what I was looking forward to teaching him about the game and how it relates to life:

  • BOOOOM!!!Golf is a game that you play to challenge yourself.

  • It is full of imperfections.

  • It takes patience and understanding.

  • Your expectations need to be realistic.

  • Your goals should be attainable and complement your level of experience.

  • You need to be courteous to others.

  • You need to pay attention to the results of your actions.

  • You need to make adjustments to compensate for the surrounding conditions.

  • There are rules to be followed.

  • You have a responsibility to care for nature.

  • The game is based on honesty and integrity.

Here is what he showed me instead:

  • hairDriving a golf cart is fun.

  • Gatorade taste really good when its hot out.

  • It’s OK to laugh at yourself.

  • Golf balls have funny names.

  • We have a great time together.

  • Keeping count of your good shots is better than counting the bad ones

  • Sharing a bag of chips is nice.

  • Did I mention that driving a golf cart is fun?

I realized, soon after we got out on the course, that my son was giving me permission to take the day off from my Dad duties. There was to be no focus for the day as far as he was concerned. We were going to simply “be together”. So, we shared a meal, talked, laughed, and played a fun game, together. He showed me that taking a break from Dadding is OK once and a while. He reminded me what life can look like if you just stop trying to make it happen all the time, and simply let it happen.

I had a great Fathers Day, thanks to my son…

 and, in spite of my initial intentions, he did too!

4 Responses to fore the fun of it

  1. David says:

    Charles, our children sometimes have a better idea what fatherhood is about than we do. Sometimes acting like a peer is more important than acting like the parent. It’s often those times of peer relationship that really open the door to understanding fatherhood, for both you and your son. Glad you had a great Fathers Day.

  2. Alasdair says:

    Sounds like you both had a great day, nice one ;)

    “… in spite of my initial intentions, he did too!” :lol:

  3. Caleb Ellington says:

    Charlie,
    Thanks for that blog, thats really good man. I look forward to the days of hanging out with the duke and playing sports.
    Thanks for being real!

  4. Chantal says:

    I almost want to take up golf after reading this…almost! One-on-one time with a child lets us know how connected we really are with them. “….taking a break from Dadding….”, I like that.
    Thanks, Charlie

Leave a Reply

