the taylor made dad

I have been in the market for some new golf clubs as of late. I am not one of those maniacs that buy and try every new golf club that is supposed to contain the latest and greatest 845technology. Nor am I a guy that believes that a club can make up for what practice has neglected. I am simply a man that understands that I can find some benefit in upgrading the sticks that I purchased 17 years ago.

When I bought my current clubs I didn’t do a tremendous amount of research. I watched T.V. and looked at the clubs being used by the guys that were making all the money on tour. I made my selection based on the success of guys like Fred Couples and never thought twice about it. I bought them right off the rack with matching woods and a putter and started playing the game.

With those clubs, I learned to putt well and chip decent. My iron shots are high and crisp. I am not out driven very often and sometimes they are even in the fairway. I score well (even when I count every stroke) and I understand the meaning of the game and have respect for its required etiquette. My clubs have treated me well, and in return, I have cared for them.

Now as I shop for my new buddies, I find myself experiencing different challenges.

simYou see, now I know more about the game. I know more about my abilities. I know more about my expectations and the situations that I will encounter. I have a choice, unlike before, to select equipment that is specific to my style of play. I can mix and match clubs and manufacturers. I can get them custom fitted. Heck, I can even take them for a test drive into a movie screen that shows me what they will do in the real world. (minus the sweat and the beer girl).

Anyone that has been around this site for a while will know where I am going with this. If you are new here, thank you for reading this far.

So I have been thinking lately.

I have been thinking about the equipment that I have been using to father my children. I have been thinking about the tools I use to cultivate them. I have been thinking about the research I have been doing to insure that I am “scoring” the best I can in their minds while having the best time possible doing it.

I know that when I started this “Dad thing”, I looked around at the Dad’s that I thought did it best. I looked for the families that seemed to be most successful and used their relationships as something to get started with. I didn’t really know what I was looking for; I just wanted to start playing. In the beginning I did a bunch of stuff well (raw ability); I did some stuff better than most (lucky); and yes, there were a few triple bogies in there as well (ignorance).

But what about now?

r7I have learned so much about myself as a father; and all along with the same equipment. Sure I score well. Sure it’s working. Sure I can keep playing the way I always have and “keep up”. Wouldn’t it make sense to make a few changes? What if I paid attention to the areas in which I needed some improvement and upgraded my ability to address them? There are so many new ways to increase my chances to succeed that I would be a fool not to take advantage of them.

So hear is what I suggest.

Spend some time looking at your game and think about where you want to be improve. Then get rid of some of your old ways and invest in something new. Allow your desire to be your best, consume you and your family. Remember that mismatched equipment doesn’t always look pretty in the bag, but if it makes you score well, so be it. Make educated decisions on what equipment you play with, and if the cost is out of your range, find creative ways to make it a reality. If you want it bad enough…you’ll work for it.

zaapA final piece of advice…

Their will always be a piece or two that you need not ever trade up. Some clubs may have defined what makes your game unique and their absence would be a travesty. Know enough to appreciate them to keep a place for them in your new bag.

You’ll have to excuse me now…I have to go hug my putter.

9 Responses to the taylor made dad

  1. Jayleigh says:

    Fantastic advice, as always. I enjoy looking into your brain a little and seeing the things on which you meditate. :-)

  2. His Girl says:

    Hhhmmm I think I have to have a garage sale and get rid of some of my old equipment.

  3. Charlie says:

    J: You are giving me one heck of an ego

    HG: One woman’s trash is another woman’s treasure. Don’t forget to bless someone with your experiences. You sound like you have sooooooooo much to offer.

  4. Anita Marie says:

    I played on the WORST soccer team in our club.
    Most of the parents stopped showing up for games and the ones that did were hung over.

    Wished I were kidding but I’m not.

    Talk about ego cruncher.

    amm

  5. Hawk says:

    Parenting did not come with a field manual. I have two young ones myself. I have learned it’s always about the basics; love, understanding, temperance, guidance, and being open to try new things to name several. The basics are important in anything you do because if you don’t have a solid understanding of these principles, everything is all for not. It’s like having a slice in your swing. Regardless of the number of hours you spend on the driving range, you will always have a slice unless you change some things. It’s like your earlier post L.A.I.D. As parents, we need to aspire to be the very best we can with our children, because they are truly a gift – a blessing and as parents our responsibility to teach them properly. A most difficult and rewarding endeavor for sure – at least for me!

    A very good piece of writing!

    Domo!

    Until the next time . . .

    Rei

  6. Duke says:

    So…what are you doing with your old clubs??
    Ha ha…good stuff man. Keep it up.

  7. Charlie says:

    Really good to hear from you cay-lo…my club purchase was set back due to an unforeseen circumstance (anniversary)…but if you E me your address, I’ll send you a little gift when I finally get them.

    I miss you bro…I know that sounds like crap with the limited time we spent together, but your presence is missed by many; and you can’t spell “many” without “any” and that rhymes with “penny” which is on cent more than “nothing”; which is exactly what I am getting at.

  8. Charlie says:

    Not at all, sir!!!!

    It was Japanese text. It said “thank you for your kindness”. I thought I was being clever, but I guess the format didn’t keep.

    So here it is in English…
    Thank you for your kindness, my friend!

    Charlie

  9. Hawk says:

    Ii desu! Wakarimsu.

    Ato de…

    Taka

Leave a Reply

