bench press your kids

Having a workout partner is a big help when you are trying to achieve your fitness goals.

  1. spotterSafety – Your partner can watch your workout, make sure you are using proper form and spot you when lifting during heavy sets.

  2. Time – When you set up a time to meet at the gym, your partner is waiting and expecting you to be there. If you train on your own you might find an excuse not to show up.

  3. Motivation – When you train together you motivate each other to be the best that you can during that session. A little motivation goes a long way, especially on days that you don’t feel like training.

  4. Fun – Having a partner makes the workout more enjoyable. You can joke around and talk about your day which helps stave off the boredom of a workout.

  5. Competition – A little healthy competition between you and your partner will likely occur – after all, we are only human.

For better or for worse, in thin times or fat, vow to workout with your partner!

I think that we can all agree that raising children is a bit of a workout. In some cases it seems like it would be easier to just sit around and eat the Bon Bons that life places in front of us as opposed to practicing to eat healthier slices of life. In other cases it seems like it would be easier to sit on the couch of exhaustion that parenting provides you, rather than bench pressing your daily responsibilities. I mean, wouldn’t we all rather sleep in a bed of silence rather than run in the noise of reality?

Well, just like working out, we need to put some accountability in our routine, we need to put together a regimen that is realistic and attainable, and we need an accountability partner to help us to insure that we are doing what is best for us and our families.

In just about 50% of the cases we are aware of, that accountability partner is your spouse.

  1. family fitnessSafety РYour partner can watch your parenting, make sure you are using proper technique and help you when attempting heavier duties.

  2. Time – When you set up a time to discipline, your partner is waiting and expecting you to be there. If you are on your own you might find an excuse not to deliver the lesson.

  3. Motivation – When you parent together you motivate each other to be the best that you can during that time. A little motivation goes a long way, especially on days that you don’t feel like parenting.

  4. Fun – Having a partner makes parenting more enjoyable. You can joke around and talk about your day which helps stave off the tediousness of parenting.

  5. Competition – A little healthy competition between you and your partner will likely occur – so race each other to bed after the day is over. The first one to fall asleep…wins!

Now for the other 50%

Please don’t be so proud to think that you can, or have to, “workout” on your own. I know that it is easy for me to speak of a situation that I am not experienced in, but anyone that has been around here for a while understands my intentions.

I would like to think that you could find these benefits in some of the other persons in your life. X’s, Parents, siblings, friends, co-workers, neighbors, peers, church members and/or staff, and local organizations are a few options for those who seem as though they are “out of options”. No one said that you had to find everything you need to do the best job all in one place. Do some scouting for the best partner for each area that you could use some help with. You may be suprised at what you come up with.

Oh yeah, there is always that God guy too. I hear he is a great spotter!

7 Responses to bench press your kids

  1. Chantal says:

    Hello Charlie, I was just thinking the other day, as I helplessly (hopelessly) listened to my kids bickering (again), about what my expectations were when their behaviour is less than stellar: they misbehave, I calmly tell them to stop, they stop. Ha! Your comment about sitting around & eating the bonbons of life made me think of that, how I wish it were so easy. It’s less about expectations, though, and more about trying to model the behaviour I’d like to see. That requires time & patience, and lots of bench-pressing. :)

    Thanks for not saying that the other 50% are single parents. Sometimes, labelling ourselves does nothing to help us grow, and everything to keep us in a pigeonhole. I’m single, but I’m not a single parent. I’m not alone in raising my kids, even if it feels that way sometimes. My kids are fortunate enough that their father & I communicate regularly about them, and we give the other support when things aren’t so great. I know that that’s not possible for everyone, but you’ve made excellent suggestions of where to find support. Parenting alone is one of the most difficult things to do, so seeking out a spotter (or 2, or 3!) is not admitting that we’re weak or lacking in skills because we’re alone. Strength in numbers, I say!

  2. Hawk says:

    Another good read and stirring thoughts aspiring for parents (particularly with dads)!

    As with a good physical workout; lifting weights, spending time on a speedbag, running, or whatever activity suits your fancy, it does your body good! The same effort and energy you devote to your own well-being, equally applies to your children. I don’t seem to have a handicap in this arena, however, we could all do better with by doing a more reps, pressing a litl’ mo’ weight, and greater effort! The bottom-line, your children represent the greatest stewardship you will ever have charge!

    Always a pleasure for me to land here when time permits. It’s a nice LZ from riding the thermals, especially after experiencing some turbulent moments in flight!

    My regards and compliments Charlie Me Boy!

    Mata ne…

  3. Mike Ash says:

    good stuff buddy…looking forward to lunch…

  4. Dawn says:

    A very interesting read for me struggling to live with a boyfriend’s 21-year old angry son. The chip on this kids shoulder is the size of a boulder. He woke me up again last night while having a 2AM slice of leftover pizza as he was hungry. As I laid in bed trying to get back to sleep for almost two hours, wondering how the heck I ever got myself in this perdicament. Thanks for sharing your words of wisdom.

  5. Jayleigh says:

    Yeah, that God guy really has my back these days. He speaks, even today!

  6. His Girl says:

    Hhhmmm this really is making me think Charlie. You always do that to me. Thankful that my spotter is Christ himself and one day he may provide an earthly spotter as well. Partners are good when God provides them.

  7. Charlie says:

    Chantal: When I wrote the 50% line I was thinking of you. I tried very hard to write it in a way that would appeal to you after some of our recent interactions.

    Hawk: The pleasure is mine!

    Mike: thanks…me too

    Dawn: Hang in there nice lady. See you tomorrow.

    J: He is soooo good.

    HG: That was a perfect addition to my blog. Thank you for your value added contribution. Be Blessed.

Leave a Reply

