how big are your knockers

“Sometimes we stare so long at a door that is closing that we see too late the one that is open.”     —Alexander Graham Bell

I wrote a blog, about a week ago, that started out with a proposition. I stated that anyone who performed a certain act, could be rewarded by me becoming their best friend for 2 weeks. Not just a regular friend, but a BEST FRIEND.

knocker 4So, it appears that a few hundred people clicked on whatever led them to my article. I will assume that half started to read and decided not to finish, and the other half were successful in achieving the goal.  Of that, half probably didn’t need any extra friends, and a few more just didn’t want ME as one of them. That leaves me with an apparent 25 to 40 new BEST FRIENDS.

But here is the part that I don’t understand…

None of them took advantage of the opportunity.  I was not asked to babysit, cut their grass, pet their cat, or paint their house. Not one person asked me for a lift to the store, a shoulder to cry on, or a pot to tinkle in. No one asked me for help, advice, prayer, money, time, love, understanding, or my opinion.

I have been asking why? (After all, I would have done ‘most’ of that stuff.)

I mean, you did your part, didn’t you? So why did you not take advantage of the invitation? Could it be that you really didn’t need anything? Is it possible that your “stuff” knocker 3is so together that you are self sufficient in every aspect of your life? Is it remotely possible that you can figure out everything on your own?

I doubt that very much. (with all due respect)

Chances are that you had no idea that I would be willing to offer you my time, treasure, or talents if the request were reasonable and within my abilities. Chances are you assumed that I would not have time for you or that I would think that you were not worth the efforts. Well I am not a mind reader folks; and neither are your co-workers, best friends, boss, spouse, pastor, family members, or employees.

“You create your opportunities by asking for them.”     —Shakti Gawain

 

There is a possibility that you are waiting patiently for several things. Such as: help on a project, an ear to bend, a raise, forgiveness, a prayer partner, some financial direction, an extra hand…etc. Whatever place you are in right now, chances are you need something to aid you in your journey  Think about the opportunities that you are waiting for in your life and ask yourself a simple question…

 

WHAT ARE YOU WAITING FOR?

 

knocker 5Don’t wait for extraordinary opportunities. Seize common occasions and make them great.”     —Orison Swett Marden

 

Opportunity is knocking on your door every day. Sometimes more than once.  God has placed us exactly where we need to be to handle anything that we are faced with. (1 Corinthians 10:13). Just remember that, at no time, does it say that you need to “go it alone”. Nor does it say that it will be easy…

 

“Opportunity is missed by most people because it is dressed in overalls and looks like work.”     —Thomas Edison

 

I have so much to say here, but this blog is getting to long. (Mike?) I will try to wrap it up and get to the point. I have been speaking with a few people lately that are underestimatimg their importance in the lives of others. Many of them have no idea how valuable they are and what that is worth to those that they impact. Once you have that bond and you take the time to cultivate it; you need to take advantage of the chance that you have been given to sow into each others lives.

 

The truth is that people will surprise you when you least expect it and when you most knocker2need it. Just think about the lengths you would go for your best friend, family member, or spouse. Do they know it? Don’t you think they feel the same way? Do you think that you are where you are, with them, by chance? Do you really think that you are part of a grand matter of happenstance? Are you really that lucky?

 

I think not.

 

We could argue whether it is a matter of luck, fate, karma, or divine intervention.

 

Or we could just get up and answer the flippin door.

6 Responses to how big are your knockers

  1. Chantal says:

    Knock knock.
    Who’s there?
    Aardvark.
    Aardvark who?
    Aardvark a million miles for one of your smiles!

    Ok, that’s a little cheesy, and I guess that it’s not requiring YOU to do anything for ME, which was the whole point of your post. But everytime we come knocking at Charlie’s Place, the door always opens and we’re rewarded with your candor, your common sense, your sense of humour, and your wisdom. So in a way, when I click on your site, I’m kind of asking something from you, in a manner of speaking….I’m looking for advice, how to be a better person, I’m looking to laugh, or sometimes I just need a wish and a prayer.
    Thanks for answering the door, Charlie…

    Chantal

  2. Traci says:

    I believe that I came across your blog for a reason. I hope that means that whenever I come here, I’m answering the flippin door. Your writing astounds me every time. Thank you.

  3. Mike Ash says:

    you’re the perfect guy to count on, thank you for always being their for me…

  4. Hawk says:

    Top of the day to you Charlie~

    I love the title to this post! Without being repetitive, I echo the same as Chantal, except for the “Knock Knock” joke. LOL! When I come a knockin’, I always feel welcome. More importantly, your friendship and offerings make me stop, look, and listen to what it is I am doing. You cause me to engage myself within my own mind and heart, to evaluate what it is I think I’m doing right. Am I hitting the mark? Is this the best decision or approach with handling something with my children? Or, am I just totally off the mark altogether? You make me think and evaluate.

    I have a few close-friends who engage me in a very similar manner. They do not criticize, they do not condemn, they do not tell me what I should or should not do. They inspire me through their friendship to be the best I can, without all the usual and customary ‘crap’ that some so-called friendships create. They, as does your site, inspires me to evaluate, question, and reason. My close personal friends, create the space for me to be the best I can be (one is a former Marine)through their encouraging support.

    I’m very proud to call you my friend. If I may say, you and Chantal were the first to befriend this warring bird in blog world. Your frienships are precious as a valued commodity. True friendship is not so much of an easy thing to come by, particular in this arena (cyber world) of one-dimensional interaction.

    Whether any of this makes sense to anyone else doesn’t really matter. At times it’s difficult for me to convey in words what I am feeling most of the time, but it does seems to be getting a little easier. I am an avid reader and friend of Charlie’s House.

    By-the-way, I have some tree stups I need to pull from the ground (about 1/2 dozen or so). Do you have some time?

    One of these days, if it were possible, it would be a pleasure to meet you out in the mid-west during one of my next treks!

    Peace Bro!

  5. raincoaster says:

    I read them and didn’t fall asleep, but you’re already everybody’s best friend!

  6. His Girl says:

    Charlie, I have the comments from you to prove that you practice what you preach errr blog. You have stated that you will fight by my side in this great battle God has us in. You encourage me, wait patiently on me, give good counsel and yes I believe you pray for me. Thank you once again for being a Godly example to all and being there for me.

    God bless you!
    Carol aka His Girl

Leave a Reply

