ask and you shall receive…just not right now

“Egg Hut Tree Hack Shin”

Have you ever concentrated so hard on what you were saying that it was unclear what you were thinking when you said it?

I know that sometimes I get so wrapped up in the obvious that I miss the actual message. I can be so concerned with my opinion and what seems logical, that I become vindicated due to my understanding of the given situation. I fight the flow of any other solution, never considering it plausible. Some people call that “Jumping to Conclusions”; others call it “Ambiguity”; but what it really is, is “Stubbornness”.

“Sea Can’t Higher Dove Fit”

Other times we just had a different idea of what we were trying to accomplish. Our intentions didn’t quite match our impact. In some cases they were polar opposites. We didn’t take time to fully understand our possible audience and the results were disastrous.

Here are some examples:

  • ٠ Clairol introduced the “Mist Stick,” a curling iron, into German only to find out that “mist” is slang for manure. Not too many people had use for the “manure stick”.
  • ٠ When Parker Pen marketed a ball-point pen in Mexico, its ads were supposed to have read, “It won’t leak in your pocket and embarrass you”. Instead, the company thought that the word “embarazar” (to impregnate) meant to embarrass, so the ad read: “It won’t leak in your pocket and make you pregnant”.
  • ٠ General Motor’s marketing of the Nova did not go very well in Central and South America. (“No va” means, of course, in Spanish: “It doesn’t go.”)

“Thief Act Huff Them Adder”

Is anyone wondering what the heck I am getting at?

Have you ever asked God for something, but he seemed to give you something else altogether? Have you ever questioned if he was listening to what you were saying in the first place? Did it ever seem like He was not paying attention to your prayers at all?

What if I told you that YOU were the one that was not paying attention to what YOU were actually praying for? What if I told you that YOU were not paying attention to who YOU were talking to? What if I told you that your plea for help will be answered, weather you like it or not?

You see, God sees through the superficial fluff that we are surrounded ourselves with. Sometimes the easiest solution is the one that is right in front of our faces, but we are looking too hard to see what it is. It is not so much in the delivery, as it is in the conception of the request. It is the need in its purest form, and it is being watched over by a “no frills” father that will cut to the chase and take out the most sensible common denominator of sin….even if it’s you.

Simply stated…

If my wife prays that I won’t argue with a member of her family’ during our next family visit, and God answers her by giving me a reason not to be present at the time of the festivities, she should look deeply into the fact that it could have been God’s plan to insure that he fulfilled her desire, even if it involved my absence and her discomfort. If she feels an additional burden on herself due to the odd conditions, it could be that the discomfort of the “is” is less than the discomfort in the “could have been”. If she doesn’t understand why things didn’t go her way, it might be that He saw a way that might better match her desire.

(It could also mean that I was just being a real jerk….but that wouldn’t help my story very much, would it?)

“Beak Hall Size Heads Hoe”

So how do we make sure that we get what we are really asking for when we pray? How do we insure that we are not disappointed in the outcome? What is the key to a perfect prayer? (I’m glad you asked…)

1) Bring the problem to God’s attention.
2) Supplication.
Make a very honest and clear confession that tells God that you need his help.
3) Then focus on God and not on the problem.
Keep in mind that our prayers are always to be God centered.
4) Thanksgiving.

Regardless of the path of HIS solution.

“What Half Weak Hot Tool Ooze”

My wife and I understand these steps better, after the fact. We reviewed our crappy experience, discussed areas of opportunity and needed improvement, and agreed on a game plan that would ensure success going forward in similar situations.

Did you catch that…?

My wife prayed for peace for one day, and God strengthened her marriage and gave her peace for countless future days. He took her tiny request and gave it a huge fix. It was more difficult for her at the time, but the payout was far more worth her efforts. It was not her game plan, but it was a bigger win. Most importantly, God insured her that HIS impact will always be greater than her intentions. A very important thing to remember…

…especially if you’re going to be married to a piece-of-work-in-progress, like me…

“Arrest Mike Ace”

11 Responses to ask and you shall receive…just not right now

  1. Charlie says:

    Can you figure out all six…?

    I will hold moderated comments for one week, so everyone gets a chance to guess, to see who has the biggest brain.

    If you don’t know what I am talking about, don’t sweat it. You would have lost anyway.

    No prize; just bragging rights.

  2. Alasdair says:

    Do you know I always get so much out of reading these posts, OK, I skip past the God bit, but then there are still the life lessons,

    Cheers … now for the important bit

    Ooooo, I like games … now where is it … aha!

    1. a gut reaction
    2. sick and tired of it
    3. the fact of the matter
    4. because I said so
    5. what have we got to lose
    6. I rest my case

    woo-hoo!

    Sadly, as much as I like games and puzzles I’m not to clever at them … hence the google cheating thing, bu’hey it’s all about asking questions and getting answers so maybe I’m not so far of the beaten track as you might think ;)

  3. His Girl says:

    Thank you. I pray for less of me and more of Him. His will be done. I get months and months of total dependence on Him for every need. Not what I was expecting but so learning to love it. I think one day when this time has passed I will look back and miss it.

    A gut reaction.
    sick and tired of it
    The fact of the matter.
    Because I says so.
    What have we got to loose?
    I rest my case. (although it should have been arrest mike ash? :) )

  4. jazmine9 says:

    Love that game!
    1- a gut reaction
    2- sick and tired of it
    3- the fact of the matter
    4- because I said so
    5- what have we got to lose
    6- I rest my case

    Great post. I once did a semester long bible study on prayer and it was VERY enlightening. It always will be on God’s time and in God’s way. We just need to realize that we will never be able to figure it out. Never!

  5. Chantal says:

    Ok, my man, here’s my shot at it:

    1. Egg hut tree hack shin: A gut reaction
    2. Sea can’t higher dove fit: Sick and tired of it
    3. Thief act huff them adder: The fact of the matter
    4. Beak hall size heads hoe: Because I said so
    5. What half weak hot tool ooze: What have we got to lose
    6. Arrest Mike Ace: I rest my case

    Ewer Thub Aist! (you need to say this with a twang for it to sound right :)

    Peace & smiles,
    Chantal

  6. Mike Ash says:

    no idea, but the last one is obviously about me…thanks for including me in on your blog…

    did your wife pray that you would only hang out with uncool people, because you haven’t hung out with me lately…

  7. Traci says:

    1. A gut reaction.
    2. Sick and tired of it.
    3. The fact of the matter.
    4. Because I said so.
    5. What have we got to lose.
    6. I rest my case.

    Hee!

  8. Susie says:

    A gut reaction
    Sick and tired of it
    The fact of the matter
    Because I said so!
    What have we got to lose?
    I rest my case

    (I think I need to go get a life now)

  9. Kristy says:

    A gut reaction.
    Sick and tired of it.
    The fact of the matter.
    Because I said so.
    What have we got to lose?
    I rest my case.

  10. Charlie says:

    Sorry, I couldn’t wait a week…

    AL: you were the first to respond. as far as the cheating thing goes, as long as you can look yourself in the mirror in the morning whilst you shave and not cower in regret for your shameful decision….congratulations!

    HG: you were just 2 hours late…but if you take into consideration the time zone thing….hmmm. (The mike ash thing was funny on its own…but look at his comment)

    Jazzy: Thanks for playing and sharing. Prayer can be so frustrating…at least the way most do it…we could all use a semester of focused study.

    Chantal: Ewer Pre Tea Cue Lures Elf

    Mike: Unfortunately, you are the least smart of my friends at this moment.

    Traci: Weeeeeeeeeee!

    Sue: I’ll still be here when you get back.

    Kristy: Now that you are seeing through the puzzle, you will have more patience for the result. You are about to be blessed more than you could imagine. Be faithful. God has the answers.

  11. Mike Ash says:

    you are the least smart of my friends at any moment, so that doesn’t make me feel bad…

    just kidding…maybe…

Leave a Reply

